Home About The Lieutenancy WWI Commemorative Links Royal Visits 2015 History The Honours System Queens Awards The Elizabeth Cross The High Sheriff Lord-Lieutenants Cadets Flag Protocol Messages From The Queen Lord-Lieutenants Visit FAQs Gallery Staff Contact Us

The West Midlands Lieutenancy

West Midlands Lieutenancy

The County of the West Midlands was first created on 1 April 1974 with the creation of West Midlands County Council, made up of the Metropolitan Districts and Boroughs of Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton. It was then abolished on 31 March 1986, along with other regional councils like Greater Manchester. However they were retained with regard to areas covered by Lord-Lieutenants. It is the second largest Lieutenancy in the country with a population of over 2.5 million.

The Lord-Lieutenant is Her Majesty The Queen’s representative in the West Midlands and is charged with upholding the dignity of the Crown. He is supported by a Vice Lord-Lieutenant and a number of Deputy Lieutenants who he appoints from the Community of the West Midlands.

The first Lord-Lieutenant of the County of West Midlands was the 11th Earl of Aylesford until he retired in 1993. He was followed by Sir Robert Taylor who retired due to ill health in 2006.  Mr Paul Sabapathy CBE was appointed as the UK’s first non-white Lord-Lieutenant in 2007 and he held this post until September 2015.  See Former Lord-Lieutenants.

The duties of a Lord-Lieutenant include:

Appointment of a Lord-Lieutenant

In England and Wales, Her Majesty The Queen appoints the Lord-Lieutenant for each County on the advice of the Prime Minister who consults widely in the County concerned.

The fundamental principle concerning the office is that he/she is Her Majesty's representative and consequently it is his/her first and foremost duty to uphold the dignity of the Crown.

The retirement age is 75.