Home About The Lieutenancy WWI Commemorative Links Royal Visits 2015 History The Honours System Queens Awards The Elizabeth Cross The High Sheriff Lord-Lieutenants Cadets Flag Protocol Messages From The Queen Lord-Lieutenants Visit FAQs Gallery Staff Contact Us

The West Midlands Lieutenancy

Vice Lord-Lieutenant & Deputy Lieutenants

Vice Lord-Lieutenant of the West Midlands

The Vice Lord-Lieutenant is given duties by the Lord-Lieutenant, and will carry out the normal duties of the Lord-Lieutenant should he be away, ill or unable to attend himself.

The current Vice Lord-Lieutenant for The West Midlands is Colonel George Marsh TD.

George spent most of his career with construction company Galliford, including ten years as Chief Executive. Since retiring he has been involved as non-executive Chairman and Director with a number of construction businesses, and is currently chair of Arden Estate Partnerships based in Coventry providing estate solutions to the healthcare sector.

He has particular interests in sustainability, skills and best practice in construction, having served on various regional and industry bodies over the last twenty years and being closely involved with Coventry University as Chair of Governors and Pro-Chancellor.  He is currently a Foundation Governor of The Schools of King Edward VI in Birmingham and a Governor of King Edwards Sheldon Heath Academy.

He served in the Territorial Army Royal Engineers for thirty years and is currently a Board Member and Chair of the Finance and Estates Committee for the West Midlands Reserves and Cadets Association.

George became a Deputy Lieutenant in November 2013 and is a Coventry Ambassador and a Military Ambassador.  He was appointed as Vice Lord-Lieutenant in June 2015 for a three-year period.

Deputy Lieutenants

Lord-Lieutenants are required to appoint Deputy Lieutenants within an establishment that varies according to the population of the County.  They are appointed by the Lord-Lieutenant, subject only to Her Majesty not approving the Commission.  They are chosen from a wide variety of backgrounds and provide specialist knowledge to the Lord-Lieutenant and assist him in his duties. The letters 'DL' appear after their names.

The duties of the Deputy Lieutenants additionally include:

The current Deputy Lieutenants are:

Mr A (Viv) Astling OBE DL

The Rt Hon The Earl of Aylesford

Professor Madeleine Atkins CBE DL

Mr Arun Bajaj DL

Mr Paul S Bassi CBE DL

Mrs Louise Bennett OBE DL

Mrs Anita Bhalla OBE DL

Mr Richard Boot OBE DL

Dame Christine Braddock DBE DL

Mr David H Bradnock MBE JP DL

Mr Keith Bradshaw DL

Mrs Elisabeth M Buggins CBE DL

Mr David L Burbidge CBE DL

Mr David Clarke DL

Mr Brendan Connor JP DL

Dr John Craggs DL

Colonel (Dr) Heidi Doughty OBE DL OStJ TD

Professor Sir David Eastwood DL

Mr David Frost CBE DL

Professor Abdul Rashid Gatrad OBE DL

Mr Stephen Goldstein CBE DL

Professor Diana M Green CBE DL

Professor Christopher Ham CBE DL

Mr Byron Head DL

Mr Steven Hollis DL

Mrs Lynda Hopkins LVO DL

Mr Frederik Hsu DL

Mr John L Hudson OBE DL

Professor Deirdre Kelly CBE DL

Dr Peter C Knight CBE DL

Professor Geoffrey Layer OBE DL

Ms Beverly Lindsay OBE OD DL

Colonel Tom D C Lloyd OBE TD DL

Mrs Jenny Loynton DL

Dr Hamid Mughal OBE DL

Major Sylvia Parkin MBE TD JP DL

Mr Alexander Patrick CBE DL

Sir Peter Rigby KBE DL

Mr John Scampion CBE DL

Sir Paul Scott-Lee QPM DL

Dr Satya Sharma MBE DL

Mr Chris Sims OBE QPM DL

Mr Clive P Stone DL

Mrs Satinder Kaur Taunque OBE DL

Mr Paul Thandi DL

Professor Sir Nigel Thrift DL

Mr R P (Peter) Tomlinson DL

Mr Simon Topman MBE DL

Mr Stewart Towe CBE DL

Mr Tim Watts DL

Bishop Dr Derek Webley MBE DL

Mr Jeremy F Woolridge CBE DL

Supplemental List – (retired as active Deputy Lieutenants on reaching the age of 75)

Mr John L Andrews MBE DL

Mr Roger S Burman CBE DL

Mr W G K (George) Carter CBE DL FCA OstJ

Sir Frederick Crawford DL

Professor Sir Brian Follett DL

Colonel A F (Tony) George MBE TD DL

Colonel A B (Tony) Griffiths CBE TD JP DL

Captain Mrs Margaret A Guy RD DL RNR

Mr William E Husselby OBE DL

Mr Joe Jordan DL MD FRCOG FRCPI (Hon)

Ms Ursula Russell MBE DL

Mr John Saville DL

Colonel Iain S Swinnerton TD JP DL

Mr Bruce W Tanner DL

Dr Jagjit Singh Taunque MBE DL

Mr Kuldip Singh Wouhra MBE DL

Mrs Ann Worley DL